What is Your New Year’s Resolution?

happy-new-year-3 Oscar Wilde said, “Good resolutions are simply checks that men draw on a bank where they have no account.” Did you make one last year? How did that work out for you?

Last year, I resolved to take care of those pesky health things that I know I should, but don’t. You know, the tests that doctors call routine, but are only routine for them, not us–blood work, pap smear, mammogram, etc.  And I did it. Got a clean bill of health, too.

See WebMD’s Find your suggested health screenings

Full disclosure: I didn’t get a colonoscopy. But I got an appointment to see the gastroenterologist by the end of 2012, so I’m checking that off as done. I also didn’t get some dental work that I need, but I visited the dentist for a cleaning and a scolding, so I’m counting that, too. Sailing on the winds of last year’s success, I resolved to make another resolution this year.

The Bible says, “Now listen, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’ Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.'” James 4:13-15, NIV

So, with a full acknowledgement that my life is a vapor, and I may not live through the next breath, I resolve to take advantage of whatever time the Lord allows me in 2013.

In 2013, I resolve by God’s grace to do at least one thing that I’m afraid to do each month. This is the year, God willing, that I overcome my fears and become a stronger person for it. Either that, or my fears will prove totally founded and I’ll perish with the brave dying words, “I told you so.” And there may still be a weird third thing that I haven’t thought of. I’ll keep you posted.

So how about you? Do you believe in New Year’s resolutions? How have you done with New Year’s resolutions in the past? What are your resolutions for this year?

See also: Popular New Year’s Resolutions in the USA

Ride the Pen

Your Story. Your voice. the best it can be.

Hebrew for Christians Blog

A personal blog by John Parsons, author of the Hebrew for Christians web site.

The Writer’s Dig – Writer's Digest

Your Story. Your voice. the best it can be.

Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing

Your Story. Your voice. the best it can be.

Writing About Writing (And Occasionally Some Writing)

Your Story. Your voice. the best it can be.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi